A Project of
SAHE-logo-high brown cqe-logo final

Humshehri: Thinking Pakistan's History

Thinking Pakistan's History

Sindh Province

Urdu Version

The third largest province in Pakistan, Sindh derives its name from the Indus River which was once known as Sindhu .

Last Updated: 13 Sep. 2013


Sindh on Pakistan map
Sindh on Pakistan map

Sindh, the third largest province of Pakistan, is located in the south-east corner of Pakistan. It is bounded by the province of Balochistan to the west, India to the east, Punjab to the north and the Arabian Sea to the south. It is about 579 km from north to south with an average breadth of 281 km from east to west, covering an area of 140,914 sq km. Sindh province, with a population of approximately 42.4 million, is the second most populated province in Pakistan.

The province of Sindh derives its name from the Sanskrit word Sindhu which means ‘ocean’ or a ‘vast collection of water’. Long ago, the Indus River was known as Sindhu and eventually over time the area around the river came to be known as Sindh. The Greeks changed the name of the river from Sindhu to Indos— hence the modern day Indus. To derive the name of this region from the river is most apt because without the mighty Indus flowing through it, Sindh would have been a barren desert.

A variety of languages and dialects flourish in Sindh. The languages spoken in Sindh include Sindhi, Bagri, Goaria, Marwari and Od. Other languages spoken in various regions of Sindh include Balochi, Dhatki, Gujarati, Jandavra, Kabutra, Kachchi, Koli, Loarki, Memoni, Pushto, Seraiki, Urdu and Vaghri.

Administrative setup

Sindh province has 5 divisions as follows:

Larkana Division has 6 districts: Larkana, Kamber, Shahdadkot, Shikarpur, Jacobabad, and Kashmore.

Sukkur Division has 5 districts: including Sukkur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Naushero Feroze and Shaheed Benazirabad.

Hyderabad Division has 8 districts: Hyderabad, Tando Allahyar, Tando Mohammed Khan, Matiari, Badin, Thatta, Jamshoro and Dadu.

Mirpur Khas Division has 4 districts: Mirpurkhas, Tharparker, Umer Kot, and Sanghar.

Karachi Division has 5 districts: Malir, Karachi East, Karachi West, Karachi South, and Karachi Central.

Sindh districts map
Sindh districts map
(Government of Sindh)

Major cities

Karachi is the largest city not only in Sindh, but in all of Pakistan. Other major cities are Hyderabad, Sukkur, Larkana, Jamshoro, Mirpur Khas, Jacobabad and Nawabshah.

Find out more


“Five Administrative Divisions in Sindh.” Dawn. 10 July 2011.


Ethnologue: Pakistan